CAR ACCIDENT ATTORNEYS
Bounce Back from a Car Accident in Oregon
When you get into a car accident in Oregon, you can be left with some major physical and psychological trauma.
Issues such as TBI, spinal cord and back injuries, broken bones, internal injuries, burns, and disfigurement are all too common. Beyond physical injuries, the horrible experience can also leave you with PTSD, anxiety and emotional trauma that requires professional medical help to overcome.
Getting the support and healing you need comes with some major price tags. In Oregon, it’s not uncommon to incur expenses that add up to tens of thousand or even more than $100,000.
You shouldn’t have to pay for that alone. Our experienced car accident attorneys can help you get the compensation you deserve.
FAQs About Car Accident Claims
Car accident claims can be confusing. To help clear things up, we’ve put together a list of frequently asked questions.
Tricky question. Oregon law requires you to file an accident report within 72 hours after the accident occurs. For the injury claim itself, you typically have two (2) years from the accident date to either settle your case or file a lawsuit. Some cases do have shorter timelines and crucial evidence can disappear quickly. That means that there’s no time to lose when it comes to contacting a car accident attorney and getting the assistance you need.
Insurance companies begin right away to build a case against you. They know that if they can get to you early, they’ll get a recorded statement from you, get you to sign authorizations and even accept a small amount quickly to resolve your case. They are experts at what they do. For this reason, you need your own expert. The lawyers at Swanson, Lathen, Prestwich, PC, have decades of experience and have handled tens of thousands of cases. Contacting us early in the process will ensure your case is best positioned for you.
As soon as an accident occurs, you need to stop at the scene of the accident. Then, call 911 and report the accident, even if there are no injured persons at the scene of the crash. In Oregon, police and emergency personnel don’t always respond. In that case, you’ll need to do some work on your own to protect yourself and your rights.
In every accident, it is critical to take photos. Most of us carry cell phones these days. Take photos of the cars, i.e. yours and the others involved. Take photos of the scene for any debris or skidmarks. Exchange information with the other drivers. This includes driver’s license, insurance and personal contact information. Take a photo of these things so you can get accurate information. Then contact Swanson, Lathen, Prestwich, PC, and allow us to take over for you and make sure you’re protected.
You can recover both economic and non-economic losses from a car accident. These include:
- Medical costs: coverage for ambulance rides, medical stays, medications, injury treatment, and future medical treatment to name a few;
- Property damages: damage to your vehicle as well as tow truck expenses, storage fees and rental car costs while you wait for your vehicle to be repaired. If your car is repaired, you may also qualify for diminished value (DV), i.e. the difference between your car’s value after an accident versus its worth before.
- Wage losses & income impairment: coverage for time during which you were unable to work due to your injuries, future loss of earnings, the value for losses in benefits or other compensation you earned as part of your job.
- Pain and suffering: compensation pain, suffering, disruption of your life, inconvenience, permanent disability, death of a loved one, disfigurement, and PTSD caused by the accident are just some examples.
An expert car accident attorney can help you determine which of these losses are owed to you.
In the event that an at-fault driver had no insurance or insufficient insurance to cover your losses or pay you compensation, your own insurance will provide the compensation that the other driver should have provided. This is called uninsurance (UM) and underinsurance (UIM) benefits in your Oregon insurance policy. It is mandatory coverage and really is the best way to protect yourself from serious financial harm.
We strongly advocate that clients carry higher insurance limits so as to protect themselves from situations where the at-fault driver has no, or very little, insurance. Most insurance companies charge relatively little to increase your insurance limits of coverage for this.
The short answer is no. For this reason, it is critical that you know all the facts and all possible outcomes for your case. Having a skilled and experienced car accident lawyer can help ensure that you get all the compensation you deserve because, once the case settles or goes to a hearing, that’s it. There is no way to re-open your case for more, even if the circumstances change
Absolutely. We tell people all the time, even in smaller cases, that it is to your serious advantage that you have a highly skilled and experienced car accident lawyer on your side. And the sooner the better for you to help make sure you don’t make mistakes early in your case and to be your advocate from start to finish.
In addition, having a car accident lawyer working for you increases the chance that you’ll get a significantly higher settlement from your accident. Moreover, we won’t charge a fee unless we win your case.
Let Us Help You
We offer free consultations to all prospective clients and if we take your case on, there is no fee unless we win. Let us know how we can help you!